Places to Go,”Sea”, and Do: North Padre Island: The Seawall

This will be part of a series of places to Go, “Sea”, and Do around the Coastal Bend. I will add posts to this series each week. The first main part of the series will be about North Padre Island.

My state of Texas is growing.  I am continually meeting new people in various places who are new to here or visiting here. I often run into people who have questions about where to go when visiting Corpus Christi and the Coastal Bend. I am originally from Houston, but have lived South Texas since 1991.I have lived here as a resident but have been here as a tourist before I moved here.  This series will highlight a few of my favorite places in and around our little bend in the coast.

**********

Sunrise on the Gulf of Mexico Photo courtesy of Extremecoast.com
Sunrise on the Gulf of Mexico
Photo courtesy of Extremecoast.com

North Padre Island

First, let me clarify some confusion. I don’t know how many people get North Padre Island mixed up with South Padre Island. They are two different places, and you cannot get to South Padre Island from North Padre Island on “South Padre Island Drive” (the freeway that runs through Corpus Christi) to get to South Padre Island.  South Padre Island is another 2 hours away. The islands are two separate places. I still scratch my head on why they named the freeway that runs through Corpus “South Padre Island Drive.” Anyway, here is one of my favorite places on North Padre Island:

1. Padre Island National Seashore

2. Bob Hall Pier at Padre Balli Park

3. Packery Channel

4. The Seawall on North Padre Island:

The Sea Wall at sunrise.
The Sea Wall at sunrise.

The seawall on North Padre Island is a great spot for people watching, bicycling, skateboarding, or just hanging out.  Here you can park at the parking lot north of the Holiday Inn and not commit yourself or car to the sand. At the parking lot, there are restrooms and showers, so if you decide to stick your toes in the sand or water, you can easily clean them off.

The seawall on North Padre is completely empty of people.
The seawall on North Padre

During the warmer months, you can stroll over to the Holiday Inn and get a smoothie at the little stand or listen to the tunes from a random band playing poolside. One other thing, during the warmer months, if you decide to learn how to hang ten, you can take surfing lessons here by the seawall with Padre Island Surf Camps. My daughter and I learned to surf with them, and we had a total blast! Hey, if I can learn in my mid 40’s anyone can! It took a few tries, but I got the hang of it. My daughter on the other hand, took to it like a fish to water.

Already surfing like a pro!
“I got this.” Already surfing like a pro!
Leave a Reply

