Note to self…Triple-Check your docs Weeks Before you Leave the Country!

 

Photo courtesy of: www.lakewood.org
Photo courtesy of: http://www.lakewood.org

Wow! Life has been busy for me here! I have not posted in awhile due to getting our family ready to go to the Philippines. My husband is from there, and we were planning to take a long trip there with the kids to visit family and see the sights. This was going to be the first time there for my children and myself.

Well, all of these earnest plans came to a screeching halt when I went to the airport to try to adjust our seat arrangement for the long flight. We had reserved seats 6A, 6B, 6C, 6D with Travelocity. My hubby checked with American Airlines and our seat said “unreserved” on their site. So the day before we were to depart, I went to the airport to try to see if I could get that taken care of.

I went to the ticket counter and had spoken to the representative. He was working on trying to at least get our seats with one parent and one child sitting together minimum. Then he asked if I had my passports.

I replied, “Oh, I left them at home. I did not realize that I needed them for a seat change.” However, I did remember that I took pictures of my passports and ID’s with my phone, and had them just for extra measure.

I whipped out my pics from my I-Phone. The representative replied, “Wow, you are really prepared.”

I explained, “I really try because I am traveling with my two young children. I have to try to remember everything…medicines, bug spray, plenty of sunblock…”

As he was punching buttons on his computer, I was recalling all of the things on my To Do list. I packed as lightly as possible for us and the kids; I had to make copies of our passports and ID’s; I had dig out of savings and pre-pay our bills for a month; I had to get arrangements for the dogs and cat to get fed and exercised; I had to call the car insurance and get our cars put on “storage rate.” I had to make arrangements for my elderly mother….on and on…

Next, he looked over his glasses at me and stated, “Ma’am this passport is expired.”

Expired?

Expired??

Expired???

My mind was racing; my heart was pounding. “How could that be? I had checked everything!

Or so I thought.

My son’s passport was still good for 3 more months, and my daughter’s expired. How could that be? We got them done on the same day.

Panicked, I begged the poor man behind the counter and implored, “What can I do?” He directed me to the main post office in town.

Hurriedly, I drove to that post office.  While there, they informed me that I had to go to Houston (which is 4 hours away) with my husband, child, and plenty of checks  to try to get an expedited passport. However, since it was 3:00 pm on a Friday, I would have to wait in line behind those with appointments on Monday. If I was lucky, I might get the passport on Monday, but maybe not.

Then I called Travelocity…

They could not do anything without charging $300 per ticket penalty plus the difference in price from when I bought the tickets to what they are worth now. They referred me to call American Airlines (our main carrier). After a long time, and finally getting to a supervisor, the bottom line was that sure they could adjust the dates, but it would cost almost as much to do the date adjustment as the initial price of the tickets. So in the end, I would pay almost double.

Yikes!

Then I had to see how much it cost to cancel and refund the whole trip. Yep, I was out about $1000 for that move. (Note: I can only travel during the summertime for longer periods of time since I have 2 kids in school, and I am a teacher.)

So, tearfully, I will try again for next year.

Leave a Reply

